Our Story

Sydney Motorsport Park is owned by the NSW Government and operated by the Australian Racing Drivers’ Club. It is Sydney’s only permanent race track, and one of just two permanent race circuit in Australia that hold a FIA/FIM Grade 2 International Licence.

Our purpose-built motorsport facility west of Sydney features four race circuit configurations to suit a number of motorsport activities; the Brabham Circuit, Gardner GP Circuit, Druitt North Circuit, and Amaroo South Circuit, along with a Skidpan, Skid Circuit and 4WD track.

The North Paddock boasts fifty garages lining pit lane, offering easy access for transporters and a secure base for cars, bikes, equipment and personnel. The support paddock has a bitumen surface, a dummy grid for fifty cars, eighteen carports and a scrutineering building.

Sydney Motorsport Park is also Sydney’s main hub for driver safety, education and vehicle testing. To accommodate these activities, the venue features Sydney’s largest purpose-build, floodable Skidpan for safe sliding and learning.



SMSP hosted an Australian Touring Car Championship round for the first time in 1993.

The development of SMSP’s first race circuit was approved by the NSW State Government back in 1989, and the track opened on November 10, 1990. This first circuit, known as the GP or Grand Prix circuit at Eastern Creek International Raceway, was a 3.93km track known for its fast and flowing lines that rewarded driver commitment, especially through the legendary Turn 1.

The circuit, affectionately known as The Creek, was home to a number of major international racing events. The Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix was conducted at the venue from 1991 -1996, and the Australian rounds of the A1GP were also hosted at the track.

The Australian Touring Car Championship was first held at Eastern Creek in 1992, and the track hosted at least one ATCC or V8 Supercar round until 2008 (with the exception of 2006). In 2003 and 2004, the grand finale was held at The Creek. Other major series and categories included the Australian Superbike Championship, FX Superbikes, World Time Attack, Muscle Car Masters, the Shannons Nationals, and even drag racing on the main straight. It was also a successful concert venue, hosting some of Sydney’s biggest events including the Guns’N’Roses concert in 1993 which attracted 93,000 spectators.

On April 28, 2008, Apex Circuit Design Ltd was commissioned to perform a feasibility study on upgrading the track to suit more purposes and hold larger events. It was then that SMSP began to take shape.

Funding for the proposed $9 million upgrade was secured in 2011, with the NSW Government providing $7 million, and the ARDC funding the remainder. The planned upgrade included reconfiguring the track into four layouts, with two that could operate at the same time. It expanded the GP circuit to encompass 4.7km of track, known as the Extended or Brabham circuit, and also included an new pit lane facility, control tower and amenities on the Southern end to cater for the new South, or Amaroo, circuit.

Work on the upgrades began in June 2011, with earthmoving machines starting on the link road to join turns 4 and 9, creating the Druitt North Circuit configuration. This was completed in October 2011. The Amaroo South Circuit rounded off the redevelopment and modernisation of SMSP, which was officially launched under the new moniker in May 2012.

In 2015, the ARDC celebrated 25 Years at SMSP, and in 2019, unveiled plans for a multi-million dollar expansion into night-racing with a full LED lighting upgrade and a new centre for motoring excellence, the Austalian Motorsport Innovation Precinct (AMIP). With the help of the NDSW Government, the lights and AMIP were built and launched in 2020 and 2023 respectively.