On Nov 29th, many of the competitors and officials involved in the CAMS NSW Supersprint competition gathered together to celebrate the conclusion of another great year of competition.

With a sturdy field of 179 Registrants throughout the year, of which 154 regularly competed in the seven categories , evenly split between Road Registered and Log Book Cars.

To win a championship, you must acquire the most points over an arduous eight rounds of competition. Indicating the popularity of Supersprint, seven of the eight rounds were fully subscribed with waiting lists. The organisers would like to thank all the competitors who supported the Championship.
The Championship rounds were hosted by clubs including the ARDC, NSWRRC, Mini Car Club and MX-5 Club. These clubs host the event rounds, and provide the officials for each event, ably assisted by Kerry Butcher, series Chief Scrutineer and Ian Bigg, series Chief Steward.

On a reflective note, we wish Brett Giles all the very best, as he steps down from his post of Supersprint panel member, and past chairman, after 20 years tireless service to the sport.

The championship, by category were awarded to:
Type 1 – Standard Road Cars – Tony Chan – Toyota Celica and Toyota 86.
Type 2 – Mildly Modified Road Cars – Alex Ball – Lotus Elise 111R
Type 3 – Improved Production Cars – Robert Kolimackovski – Holden Commodore VL.
Type 4 – Sports Sedans – Warwick Fuller – Holden Commodore.
Type 5 – Racing & Sports Racing Cars – Andrie Tan – Radical Supersports V8
Type 6 – Time Attack Cars – Jonathon McKinnon.
Type SV – Clubman, Special Vehicles and Highly Modified Road Cars – Allan Bugh – PRB Clubman.
Club Championship – the Australian Racing Drivers Club ( ARDC)
To further underscore the popularity and quality of the sport in NSW, NSW competitors represented 30% of the competitiors at the recently run Australian Supersprint Championship at Philip Island, Victoria, walking away with First, Second and Third place outright trophies. Andrie Tan, Duncan Forrest and Marek Tomaszewski did us proud. This was the first time the trophy was won by a driver outside the host state. An additional six “first place in category” trophies were awarded to our drivers as well. Congratulations to our NSW drivers.
We look forward to another safe and successful year in 2014.
– words and pics by Rob Annesley
Thanks to Mike Hicks for his assistance.