The Great Race, which was started by the Australian Racing Drivers’ Club in 1962 and run by the club for many years, has seen so many amazing motorsport moments, but Ford’s legendary 1-2 finish in the 1977 Hardie-Ferodo 1000 is remembered as one of the greatest.

The #1 Falcon of Allan Moffat paired with Jacky Ickx, and the #2 Falcon of Colin Bond and Alan Hamilton famously paired up to take the chequered flag in first and second place, cementing the moment in history.


The ARDC recognises this great moment in motorsport, and the achievements of former ARDC Board Member Allan Moffat and former ARDC President Colin Bond, with the naming of two turns in their honour at the Club‘s current home, Sydney Motorsport Park.

From October 2017, Turn 1 will be known as Moffat Corner, and Turn 2 as Bond Bend.

Their names join those of Peter Brock, Wayne Gardner and the late Sir Jack Brabham, who have Turn 5, the Gardner GP Circuit, and both the Brabham Extended Circuit and Brabham Straight named after them as a nod to their contributions to the ARDC and to Australian motorsport.