A bumper field of 36 historic Formula Fords will line up to celebrate the 50th anniversary of international Formula Ford racing at the Sydney Classic Speed Festival, 10-11 June.

Formula Ford was conceived in England in 1967, and quickly evolved into a popular junior development category all over the world. It made its first appearance in Australia in 1969, and quickly earned a reputation as the primary stepping stone for young drivers aspiring to forge a professional career in motorsport.

The Sydney Classic Speed Festival has attracted an array of historic Formula Fords from Fa (pre-1978), Fb (1978-1983) and Fc (1984-1989) eras. All cars are powered by the venerable 1600cc Kent Ford motor, which was a mainstay of all Formula Ford competition up until 2006.

One of the most appealing aspects of Formula Ford was the ease and cost-effectiveness at which chassis builders could construct cars, and this was demonstrated in the variety of chassis that participated in Formula Ford races throughout the 1970s and ‘80s. Some chassis were imported, while some were locally-built, and a number of different brands will be represented at the Sydney Classic Speed Festival including:

  • Hawke (England)
  • Van Diemen (England)
  • Lola (England)
  • Reynard (England)
  • Lotus (England)
  • Hustler (Australia)
  • Mawer (Australia)
  • Elwyn (Australia)
  • Elfin (Australia)
  • Swift (Australia)
  • Zink (USA)

The race meeting has also attracted a number of well-credentialed drivers from all over Australia including:

  • Cameron Walters – 2015 Australian Formula Ford Kent Class Champion and NSW State Champion
  • Geoff Walters – two-time Australian Formula Ford Championship runner-up and NSW State Champion
  • Lyndon Arnell – Australian Formula Ford race winner
  • Jonathan Miles – Victorian State Champion

Other front-runners are likely to include experienced racers Andrew McInnes, Mark Lowing and Andrew Nethercote.

The event will consist of qualifying and Race 1 on Saturday, and Races 2 and 3 on Sunday.

There will also be a commemorative dinner on the Saturday night of the event, with entertainment including footage of historic Formula Ford races, and Q and A sessions with past Australian Formula Ford Champions.

Formula Ford will be one of eight race categories featured through the weekend’s racing on June 11 – 12, amid a prestigious line-up of Formula 5000s, Historic Touring Cars, Heritage Touring Cars, Group S Production Sports Cars, Historic Sports Racing Cars, Holden HQs, Modern Regularity (-1992), and Formula Ford celebrating its 50th Anniversary.

There will be new and exciting race formats including scratch, handicap and also split-grid starts; and Car Club displays, and Sydney’s newest Concourse event, which should attract hundreds of the best display vehicles Sydney has ever seen!

For more information on the Sydney Classic Speedfest or to buy tickets in advance and save, head to speedfestival.com.au or call the ARDC on (02) 9672 1000.