Round Four of the CAMS Supersprint Championships was held at Sydney Motor Sport Park on July 20th on the 4.5km extended Brabham Circuit. This was the first time this year that the gigantic field of 99 entrants were treated to this very testing track layout. They enjoyed a great day weather wise, and every driver got the opportunity to complete four solid sessions.
As we have come to expect in recent times, Andre Tan in his Radical was the fastest car on the day with a time of 1.50.179 although Marek Tomaszewski was not that far behind in his Stohr with a very close time of 1.50.793. Andre broke the Type 5 Record and Class 5D Record while Marek broke the Class 5D Record. It should also be noted that Marek also bettered Andre’s old Type 5 record.
Richard Perini was the fastest tin top on the day in his Porsche RSR with a
time of 1.58.837 which broke both the Type 4 and Class 4C Records. Four Type Records were broken and 12 Class Records were broken.
Records broken or set on the day were:
Type 2 – Warwick Morris in his Porsche with a time of 2.05.547. Warwick also
broke the Class 2C Record. This is the 3rd Type Record that Warwick has
broken this year only missing out at Wakefield Park at Round 1.
Type 4 – Richard Perini in his Porsche RSR with a time of 1.58.837. This is
Richard’s 1st Type Record this year but 3rd Class 4C Record.
Type 5 – Andre Tan in his Radical with a time of 1.50.179. Like Warwick
Morris, Andre has broken 3 Type Records this year, just failing to better
his own Type 5 Record at SMSP North at Round 3.
Type 6 – Kim Tai in his Mitsubishi Evo with a time of 2.01.019. This is
Kim’s 2nd Type Record this year.
Class 1C – Preston Peiris in his Mazda MPS3 with a time of 2.21.661. Preston
has broken the Class 1C each time he has run this year.
Class 2C – Warwick Morris in his Porsche GT3 with a time of 2.05.547.
Warwick didn’t just break the record, he shattered it, taking a massive
7.583 seconds off the previous record.
Class 3A – Perennial record breaker Jason O’Meara broke his own Class 3A
Record by almost 2 seconds in his Honda Civic with a time of 2.14.980 Class
4A – Chris Muir in his Honda CRX with a time of 2.15.373. This is only the
2nd time out for Chris in this car but he has broken the Class 4A Record
both times that he has run.
Class 4B – David Lawler broke his own Class 4B Record in his Mazda MX5 by
7.401 seconds with a time of 2.18.361. It worth mentioning that both Ed Cory
and Anthony Crott ran in the 2.18s and were both 7 seconds under David’s
previous Class 4B Record. Sorry that you don’t make the record books but
great effort guys.
Class 4C – Richard Perini in his Porsche RSR with a time of 1.58.837.
Another shattered record. Richard took 8.166 seconds off the old Class 4C
Class 4D – Drew Hall broke the Class 4D Record in his Nissan GTRV R34 with a
time of 2.03.193 Class 5B – Chris Kostakis broke his own Class 5B Record in
his MNR Vortx with a time of 2.01.672. Chris has broken the Class 5B Record
at each of the 4 Championship Rounds this year.
Class 5C – Marek Tomaszewski in his Stohr with a great time of 1.50.793.
Marek broke his own Class 5C record by 2.372 seconds.
Class 5D – Andre Tan broke his own Class 5D Record in his Radical by 1.249
seconds with the fastest time of the day of 1.50.179 Class 6A – Blake Jones
broke the Class 6A Record by 5.876 seconds in his Mitsubish R-Colt with a
time of 2.17.470 Class 6D – Kim Tai smashed the Class 6D Record by just
under 11 seconds in his Mitsubishi Evo with a time of 2.01.019
The Mazda MX5 Club has broken away from ARDC in the Club Championship
scoring a massive 513 Club points at Round 4 to ARDC’s 361. MX5 Club lead the Club Championship on 1,739 points and are now 156 points ahead of ARDC on 1,583 points. Manly Warringah are coming third with 844 points.
Words and picture by Rob Annesley
Special thanks to Bob Welsh for specific competitor details