Supersprinters are a tough bunch, as was evident on Sunday June 14th, when 110 hardy souls braved the winter 5 degree early foggy chill to pull on race suits and strap on helmets with the idea of bettering their previous personal best times around the Sydney Motorsport Park North (Druitt) circuit. Great to see a bunch of new faces/cars that came out to experience the fun that supersprinting provides. This round was sponsored by the NSW Road Race Club.

There must have been something in the clear crisp winter air that both drivers and cars enjoyed, because when the final results for the day were tallied, records tumbled with PB’s exceeded in almost all categories. Some records were absolutely smashed by both new individuals, as well as incumbent record holders. Of note, Andrie Tan just gets smoother and smoother as he becomes one with his car, taking a further second off his already superb sub one minute Class 4D time to record a 0:57.584 lap, making him the fastest person on the track on the day. Richard Perini also took more than half a second off his own Class 4C record in his beautifully presented Porsche RSR with a 0:63.946.


Jason O’Meara (Honda Civic) in Class 3C broke the previous record of Rob Neal set last year by a further 0:16 seconds. Jason is the current record holder in three different classes, 2A, 3A and now 3C. He is one of only two drivers to currently hold more than one class record at SMSP Druitt and the only one to hold three records at one time. For those who are wondering what is Jasons’ competitive edge, it may have to do with his new paint job.
Anecdotally, Chris Muir, fellow Manly-Warringah club teammate, joked with Jason prior to racing on Sunday suggesting that Jason would likely be careful to keep away from other cars so as to not get his paint work scratched. You were correct Chris, he did… by driving quickly and staying right out the front of the pack. Chris also had a spectacular drive in Class 4B shattering the Ed Corey-held record by a massive three and a half seconds with a very impressive time of 1:12.737. Chris is the other multiple record-holder with both the 4A and 4B records. Ed Corey was also driving well, breaking his own record, but was unable to match it with Chris on the day.


Anthony Crott finally unveiled his new turbo MX-5 with updated livery. Featuring a silver grey base with orange and lime green striping, it is quite spectacular out on track. Willem Fercher had mixed fortunes with a fastest lap in category before a loud bang and huge puff of smoke saw his weekend end on the back of a flat top.

Class Records were broken in every Type with the exception of Type SV where all class records remained intact. All in all, 9 class records were broken.

Class 1C – Preston Peiris broke his own record set last year by just over a quarter of a second with a time of 1.17.307 in his Mazda MPS3.

Class 2D – Craig Donnell also broke his own record by just over a half a second in his supercharged Holden Clubsport with a time of 1.10.966.

Class 5C – Marek Tomaszewski. who also gets faster and faster, knocked a massive 2.848 seconds off his own record in his Stohr WFI with a sub one minute time of 58.854. Apart from Andrie in the Radical, Marek was the only other sub one minute performer on the day.

Class 5D – Andrie Tan broke his own Class 5D Record in his Radical Supersport with a time of 57.584.

Class 6A – Tony King shaved just under a quarter of a second of Samuel Hollier’s two year old Class 6A record in his Mazda MX5 with a time of 1.16.269

Class 6C – Troy Fraser reduced Jonathon McKinnon’s 2103 record by 1.598 seconds in his Nissan 200SX with a time of 1.07.269

The Mazda MX5 Club is surging away in the Club Championship scoring a massive 508 points on the day. They have now amassed a total of 1,859 Club Championship points and they are 765 points in front of the current second place ADRC, who have now a total of 1,084 points. The HSV/HDT Club is a further 338 points back with a total of 746 points. MX5 club have a handy lead, however with five rounds to go, the other clubs with an enormous effort, could still get their hands on the club trophy.

Thanks to Bruce Welsh for his in-depth statistics.

Words and pics by Rob Annesley